Adopted in the UK

The life of a UK adoptee

Happy Gotcha Day to me

with 4 comments

As I posted on FakeBlkag:

Celebrating 39 years of being severed from my own everything – to the day.

‘Twas a Saturday she was taken
Away from all that she knew
To be severed from all that she was
So they could mould her to try to make someone new.

 

 

I have no idea what I am going to do with this day.

To be truthful, all I really want to do is go back to bed and pull my lovely, warm duck feather and down quilt up over my head, and be oblivious to it all. It’s the Saturday between Dead Friday and Zombie Sunday though (in 1973, these came two weeks later), which means that if we want to have anything in the house before Tuesday, then it needs getting today.

Wonder if any of my parents even remember what date it was that I lost everything.

Written by 7rin

Sat, 7 April, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Posted in 7rin

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi I was looking at Gotcha day things on Google and saw this. My kids were taken from me by CPS. I really didn’t do anything wrong it was over domestic violence but CPS is corrupt and wanted to adopt my kids to a lady who they know personally and she can’t have kids. My mom tried to get them but they wouldn’t let her even though she has no criminal history, a home of her own, and a good job. I miss my kids and cry every day. I just wanted to tell you I don’t know your story but there are so many of us who have lost our everything.

    eleanor

    Fri, 29 June, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    • That’s why I went to the Birmingham Child Stealing by the State conference {LINKY}.

      Doesn’t matter how you cut it though, your kids have still lost more than you, especially if they’ve been adopted. They’re the ones who have to grow up living lives of legalised lies, not you.

      7rin

      Tue, 3 July, 2012 at 5:57 pm

  2. So 7rin – this date is coming around again for you, and i wonder what has happened in the last year.

    I met with Bdad in advance of CHTs reunion last month, and he remembered the exact day and time he last saw her. Exact. It was etched into his mind as if by acid.

    I am so grateful for the way you share your story so openly. Mx

    @mumdrah

    Sat, 23 February, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    • Heh, good question, and one I was totally unprepared for, so thank you for asking and making me think. :}

      To be honest, it doesn’t feel like just a year since I posted this. In fact, I had to look at the date on the post because I thought I’d posted it the year before!

      What has happened since is an awful lot, and a lot of nothing too. Employment and in-home-wise, I’m still stagnating and feeling like I’m getting nowhere quick, yet so much has happened too, with most of it feeling like it’s only happened in the past few months (for which I point the finger at Twitter entirely – in a good way though).

      While I hit Twitter some time ago (I’d chuck the date in, but TweetGrader is having a sloooooow day), it wasn’t until I realise that I could poke @martinnarey directly that I really started using it and took to it. Since then things have catapulted along[1], with the upside being not only that I’ve found some UK adopters who don’t drive me insane with their failure to see that I am what their kid could become, but I’m also (still slowly, but faster than before) making some actual progress on getting Post Adoption Charity up and running.

      There have also been bad times too though, with perhaps the worst being my blowing up when bbro’s #2 son’s SWer was here to do an assessment. As I’m sure you can imagine, sending a SWer running out of the house crying is not exactly conducive to getting a good report, and so I did think that for a while I’d lost the one person in my reunion that I’m closest to because his son ended up shipped off to a far distant FCer because of me (not just because of me I a realise, but I didn’t help matters). Luckily, while Staff’s SS’re complete arseholes who refuse to take into account the trauma that adoption inflicts on us (and indeed, gleefully inflicted the same trauma on said nephew’s newborn baby brother *sob*), despite me sending a deeply apologetic letter explaining that not only had I got all the adoption trauma, but I’d just spent the previous 13 hours violently vomiting and was in excruciating agony, bbro’s a sound bloke and we’ve managed to get past the loss of his kid to FC being in part my fault.

      So much to write, so little clue where to start/go/end though. Same as writing a blog post, really.

      [1] I don’t know if it’s because of finding so much compassion on Twit from non-adoptees (such as your good self and the lovely @EmmaLangman), or if it’s because three years of reunion trauma made my head say “enough’s enough”, but I suspect both are significant.

      7rin

      Sat, 23 February, 2013 at 9:34 pm


Leave a Reply

