Adopted in the UK

The life of a UK adoptee

Adoption Essentials

with one comment

I wrote the following in reply to an iloveadoption (like a hole in the head I do *vom*) thread; and I’m sharing it ’cause I think it concisely summarises what *I* believe is essential to the future of adoption…

I’m not for adoption for anyone, at least not until it involves the supply of an adoption certificate that names all four (or more) parents; and that the adoptee is guaranteed access to that certificate for the entirety of their lives.

If we’re gonna trade kids like we trade everything else in the world, at least make sure they’ve got a truthful paper-trail that THEY can follow whenever THEY wanna follow it.

… and before I got around to posting ^that, I also came up with …

Your parents can’t’ve been the best parents in the world ’cause mine were. I’m also (raised) an only child and would’ve been spoiled rotten even if I hadn’t’ve been. If I hadn’t seen so damn clearly what family is *meant to be*, then adoption wouldn’t hurt so damn much!

Written by 7rin

Fri, 20 August, 2010 at 8:06 pm

Posted in Reactions

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] out that – contrary to popular opinion – I’m not anti-child protection, and Adoption Essentials following-up by explaining the one thing that I would prevent MANY the current complaints from […]


Leave a Reply

